turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

lsagunner

What to do with 1042S? 6th year F1 student...

Hello, I wrongly reported the years of stay in US when I came to my current university -- It seems that I didn't correctly report the days I studied in a previous university as I hadn't got any payment then.

Now, I'm told that I shouldn't have signed tax treaty last year. However, coming from China, I find that I'm still eligible for exactly the same treaty benefits even I become a resident alien.

With 1042S form in hand, I'm not sure what to do... Can I simply attach it with a 1040 form? In W2, the $5,000 is already deducted from taxable income... Could anyone help me? Thanks! 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DS30

If you are an F-1 visa holder, you are considered a non-resident alien for the first 2 (non-students) or 5 (students) calendar years because you will be exempt for the Substantial Presence Test (SPT) .

Please refer to this US Tax Guide for Aliens for additional information about visa exemptions and the various filing requirements.

However, since 2015 was your 6th year in the USA, you will be considered a US resident for income tax purposes.

You will need to enter both the 1042-S and the amount of treaty exemption (if additional treaty exemption is available)on your Form 1040 if you are a US resident alien. If you received a 1042-S then the IRS has also received a copy of this 1042-S.