turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Why was my refund advance denied. I met all of the qualifications.

I applied for the refund advance and according to the listed qualifications, I currently meet them all. My refund was for almost $3000, just 1 W2, and 3 dependents. I don't understand why the system is not set up to at least give you a reason for denial or let you know which qualifications you did not meet. I have been using TurboTax since 2015 with no problems with any of my returns. Has has this happened to anyone else or can anyone shed some light on the reasons why they deny you when you meet the qualifications?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

77 Replies

What if I don't qualify for Refund Advance?

If you don't qualify, you'll receive an email confirming you won’t receive a Refund Advance. It will include information about why you were not eligible for a Refund Advance. Your federal refund (minus any other agreed upon fees) will be loaded onto a Turbo Visa Debit Card.1

Why wasn't I approved for a Refund Advance?

Unfortunately, you did not meet the qualification criteria for the Refund Advance. First Century Bank NA will send you an email explaining why you weren’t eligible for the Refund Advance.

If you didn't pre-qualify for Refund Advance, it may be because:

• Your federal refund was not $500 or more.
  • You did not agree to all the Refund Advance terms and conditions.
  • You owed the U.S. Government or your State.
  • You had debt enforced by a State such as, but not limited to, child support obligations, past student loans, tax liens, and any other payments owed to a Federal or State agency.