Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Federal Tax return electronic filing rejected - now what?

I submitted my 2020 Federal Tax return electronically and it was rejected.

I have been filing electronically for the past ten years without problem, but this is the first time I have a "refund due" (because COVID-19 stimulus money was not received). This is also the first time I setup direct deposit (as this is the first time I have a refund coming) and my status has changed from married to single.

I resubmitted my Tax return electronically twice now (2/7 and 2/14) (and the 2019 AGI amount shown/entered is correct).

How do I find out what is the problem and what to do to fix this?

My rejection text message from TurboTax says "my name, your federal return was rejected by the IRS. Don't worry, we'll help you fix the problem. Check your email for more information."

I never got an e-mail from TurboTax. It's been 10 days now. I don't know why the return was rejected so I don't know what needs to be fixed.

Lastly, on the IRS "check my refund status" site, when I enter the SS#, amount of refund, and date of filing, nothing comes up (no records, etc.). 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Since the 2020 Federal tax return was rejected the IRS has received nothing so there would not be a status on the IRS federal tax refund status website.