turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1042-S form (income code 16) - Unable to e-file

Hello,

I am a resident alien and received a 1042-S (income code 16).

I reported it as a fellowship, and reported the income tax withheld as "Other income taxes paid in 2020". However, I am not able to e-file (I am receiving a message saying that my income tax withholding is greater than my income.

Is this correct? Is there a way to report the fellowship under income so I can e-file?

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
AmyC
Expert Alumni

You can have it turn into income. You can enter it as other income. Follow these steps:

1. Log into your return
  2. Federal
  3. Click on Income
  4. Scroll to the bottom section, Less Common Income
  5. Select Miscellaneous income, 1099-A, 1099-C, start
  6. Select Other Income
  7. Did you receive other wages? Yes
  8. Continue
  9. Household employee? Continue
  10. Sick or disability pay? Continue
  11. Any other earned income or wages? Yes
  12. Enter source of Other Earned Income
  13. Select Other
  14. Continue
  15. Enter description SCH
  16. Enter amount, $1 or full amount

If the amount is less than $12,400, you could enter the whole thing since it would not be taxed.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

11 Replies
LinaJ2020
Expert Alumni

You should be able to e-file.