Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

lukas
Returning Member

How to file form 1042-S with income code 16, exemption code 4 in box 3a using turbo tax?

I am a research associate who changed my position in 2019.  As a result, I have 1042-S and W-2.  I need help on 1042-S filing using turbo tax. 

Here is the information I have.  I am a resident alien for tax purpose.  My income code is 16.  Chapter 3 with Box 3a (exemption code) is 4 and Box3b (tax rate) is 00.  The Box 7a (Federal tax withheld) has $$$.

It seems I have to jump 1098T to enter the information.  However, I am not sure which Box I need to use in 1098T.  Box 1 is tuition and Box 5 is scholarships/grants.  I was not a student but a post-doctoral fellow. 

For tax withheld, I guess I have to enter the amount in estimate paid in estimates and other income taxes paid. 

Once done, do I have to submit 1042S to the IRS by mail?  Or will TurboTax be suffice?

By the way, I have been in the US for over 5 years so the tax treaty is not applicable.

Many thanks in advace.

Thanks in advance for the help. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

14 Replies
KrisD15
Expert Alumni

How to file form 1042-S with income code 16, exemption code 4 in box 3a using turbo tax?

Code 16 would signify scholarship income. 

If the 1042-S is reporting the scholarship, and it is taxable, you can enter it in the Education Section under Deductions & Credits, but don't report a 1098-T if you didn't get one. Answer "No" that you didn't receive a 1098-T and "No" you don't have an exception, the screens that follow should allow you to enter the scholarship amount only. (without the 1098-T)