Solved: I accidentally upgraded my account. How do I cancel to go back to my free account?
Sign Up

Why sign in to the Community?

  • Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Announcements
TurboTax has you covered during Covid. Get the latest second stimulus info here.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
New Member

I accidentally upgraded my account. How do I cancel to go back to my free account?

 
1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
New Member

I accidentally upgraded my account. How do I cancel to go back to my free account?

No problem. You can downgrade using the clear and start over feature. However, you will be required to restart your return. 

In TurboTax Online, you can erase your return and start from scratch as long as you haven't submitted payment, deducted the TurboTax fee from your refund, or registered.

  1. If you haven't already done so, sign in at TurboTax.com and select the blue Take me to my return button.
  2. On the welcome back screen, in the left-side menu, select Tax Tools, and then select Clear & Start Over (click or tap the 3 lines in the upper-left corner if you don't see this menu).
  3. Answer Yes in the pop-up to confirm.

GEN86827

Answered by TurboTax FAQ to this question

View solution in original post

5 Replies
New Member

I accidentally upgraded my account. How do I cancel to go back to my free account?

No problem. You can downgrade using the clear and start over feature. However, you will be required to restart your return. 

In TurboTax Online, you can erase your return and start from scratch as long as you haven't submitted payment, deducted the TurboTax fee from your refund, or registered.

  1. If you haven't already done so, sign in at TurboTax.com and select the blue Take me to my return button.
  2. On the welcome back screen, in the left-side menu, select Tax Tools, and then select Clear & Start Over (click or tap the 3 lines in the upper-left corner if you don't see this menu).
  3. Answer Yes in the pop-up to confirm.

GEN86827

Answered by TurboTax FAQ to this question

View solution in original post

New Member

I accidentally upgraded my account. How do I cancel to go back to my free account?

I did so. Thank you so much.
However, it would be nice to have another way to do it which doesn't mean I have to do all over again. I had already finished every step and doing it all over again is not so nice.
New Member

I accidentally upgraded my account. How do I cancel to go back to my free account?

Unfortunately, using the clear and start over feature is the only way to downgrade, which requires to restart your return. I'm sorry.
New Member

I accidentally upgraded my account. How do I cancel to go back to my free account?


I accidentally registered, how can you help to go back to the free version?
New Member

I accidentally upgraded my account. How do I cancel to go back to my free account?

I have the same issue and now I cant go back cause I already registered. And I was already registered when I accidentally upgraded so it makes no sense that I can't change it back.

Dynamic Ads
v
Privacy Settings