turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Why is IRS using standard deduction for my 93 year old mother who is legally blind, when Itemized deductions apply as stated by TurboTax?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Why is IRS using standard deduction for my 93 year old mother who is legally blind, when Itemized deductions apply as stated by TurboTax?

Yes - it will be difficult to get through to the IRS. I’m an Enrolled Agent and help people solve their IRS issues.  I use a priority hotline as a Practioner and I too have trouble getting through. 

Are you using TT online? Or desktop?  If desktop you will be able to see all the worksheets and information and ‘probably’ be able to tell what happened.  If TT online it will be more difficult since it limits the ability to see any worksheets.  

I cannot say for sure, and in theory I agree the  TT program should not have let that happen, but I suspect after having helped 1000s of people with their tax returns in the program (I used to work for TT)  there may have been a box that wasn’t checked or some piece of info that was skipped over, causing the issue. 

I can try and help you outside this forum if you’d like.   

View solution in original post

15 Replies

Your 93 y.o. mother who is legally blind has a standard deduction of $15,700 for 2020 assuming she files as Single.

$1650 - over age 65

$1650 - blind

$12,400 - Single

Have you corrected entered all itemized deductions? Did you drop a zero? or enter a decimal point incorrectly?