turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Free State Filing

I filed my state tax and was asked to pay for the filing.   This is my first time using the tax program.  Apparently, there is a bug in the system.  What are the steps to receiving my refund?  I had the exact same issue last year.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

Free State Filing

Did you use the CD/download?

When you use desktop software, there is an additional fee to e-file a state return.  You can avoid that fee if you print, sign and mail the state return.  The state e-file fee is $19.99 and increases in March.

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

Free State Filing

Every year I receive the Deluxe W/Fed EFile and Free State Download Win CD-ROM by mail.  I have been receiving Turbotax for over twenty years by mail.   I had this issue last year when I had to contact TurboTax to receive my refund for the State Tax efiling.   I don't know if there is an issue with the software but for the amount of money that I pay for this software I shouldn't continue to have this issue.  Has anyone else file their taxes and had to pay for the state tax efile?

Free State Filing

There has always been a fee to e-file the state return when you use the CD/download. You get the software to prepare the state return, but pay to e-file it.    You can avoid that fee by printing, signing and mailing the state return.