turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Does the Maryland RELIEF Act apply to me if I'm a resident of Maryland but received unemployment payments from another state (CA)?

It looks like I'm getting taxed by Maryland for my 2021 unemployment income from California. Does the MD RELIEF Act apply to me if I'm a resident of Maryland but received unemployment benefits from a different state?

"The RELIEF Act provides a State Income Tax Exemption for Unemployment Insurance (UI)
Benefits for qualifying filers. UI payments are currently subject to federal and state income taxation. Beginning with Tax Year 2020 and including Tax Year 2021, the Act exempts from the state income tax the UI benefits received by an individual earning less than $75,000, and couples filing jointly or individual heads of households earning less than $100,000."
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DMarkM1
Employee Tax Expert

Does the Maryland RELIEF Act apply to me if I'm a resident of Maryland but received unemployment payments from another state (CA)?

You are correct you do not qualify for the unemployment compensation exclusion from MD taxes since the benefit was paid by CA.  Below is an excerpt from the MD tax form instructions (see page 12).

Amount of unemployment compensation reported on 1099-G, Box 1, that was included in your FAGI for qualified taxpayers. You qualify for this subtraction if:

You received unemployment benefits from the Maryland Department of Labor;