turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am 26 and filed my tax return months ago. How do I know if I was claimed on my mom's return? I was a full time grad student and had 9,336 in income for 2019 per W-2.

I originally had that I can be claimed on someone else's return, but my return was accepted and not rejected. I wanted to know what are the rules for my situation. If you are a Turbo Tax expert please help!
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

I am 26 and filed my tax return months ago. How do I know if I was claimed on my mom's return? I was a full time grad student and had 9,336 in income for 2019 per W-2.

Ask her.   You were too old and earned too much to be anyone's dependent.   You should not have said that you could be a dependent because you could not.

Older than age 23 and more than $4,200 total income is the cutoff for being a dependent.

**Disclaimer: This post is for discussion purposes only and is NOT tax advice. The author takes no responsibility for the accuracy of any information in this post.**
Hal_Al
Level 15

There are two types of dependents, "Qualifying Children"(QC) and standard ("Qualifying Relative" in IRS parlance even though they don't have to actually be related). There is no income limit for a QC but there is an age limit, student status, a relationship test and residence test. 

The support test is different for each type. The support test, for a QC, is only that the child didn't provide more than half his own support. The support test for a Qualifying Relative is that the taxpayer provided more than half the relative's support.