turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

What reporting & tax differences exists when a former employer reports income via 1099 using an Ind. Con. SSN vs. the EIN of the S-Corp they established during that year?

I worked as an independent contractor with a real estate company in Florida in 2017. In September of 2017, I filed the paperwork and successfully established a sole proprietorship (PA: Professional Association) with an effective started date of January 1, 2017. I'm wondering what are implications if my former employer reports part or all earnings using the SSN instead of the EIN (earnings were about $80K, 2/3s of which was paid out prior to filing the paperwork). If the employer's reporting method is improper, or there are negative consequences for either party, what are the workarounds or recourses for the new business? It seems it should be reported via the EIN given the incorporation date. I've tried to research this, and wasn't arriving at an answer. Your help is much appreciated!!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

13 Replies

What reporting & tax differences exists when a former employer reports income via 1099 using an Ind. Con. SSN vs. the EIN of the S-Corp they established during that year?

Did you or will you be receiving a W-2 or a Form 1099-MISC for the income?  When you say employer that indicates you were an employee and not an independent contractor.  An employee would receive a W-2.

DoninGA, I misused used the term—Carl mentioned the proper term for our relationship: payor/payee. I will receive a 1099-Misc for the income. Thanks for your support!