turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

What counts as first four years of college?

I'm looking at claiming the American Opportunity Credit and I'm not sure if I qualify or not.  When they say "first four years of post-secondary education" what does that exactly mean?  I spent about 4 years at a community college because I changed majors.  I graduated from the community college and now I'm pursuing my bachelor's degree.  Since I have not completed my four year degree yet and I have never claimed the American Opportunity Credit, would I qualify?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MargaretL
Expert Alumni

If you received four years academic credit for your 4 years at a community college, then you would not qualify for the American Opportunity Credit, unfortunately.

Please refer below for more details.

https://www.irs.gov/individuals/aotc

View solution in original post

10 Replies

NO, YOU DO NOT QUALIFY
MargaretL
Expert Alumni

If you received four years academic credit for your 4 years at a community college, then you would not qualify for the American Opportunity Credit, unfortunately.

Please refer below for more details.

https://www.irs.gov/individuals/aotc

gokce

What if I completed four years academic credit in a country other than the U.S.? Am I still not eligible?

MarilynG
Expert Alumni

Your educational institution can tell you if you've been awarded four years of college-level credit before the current tax year. If you didn't earn this amount, then you may still be eligible for the American Opportunity Credit.

Here's more info on the American Opportunity Credit. 

@gokce

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post