turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

If i am a college student, am i a resident of the state that my school is in?

Replies are in other thread:

https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/college-education/discussion/student-question-about-residency-and-...

And....FL has no state income tax, so you do not file a state return for FL.

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

I currently attend graduate school in CT and work at my university as well (including summers) however i still have my NJ ID but have CT health insurance. Would i still need to file for both states or just CT

KrisD15
Employee Tax Expert

That depends.

How you file state tax returns depends on several circumstances. 

(Military members have their own requirements unique to them)

Let's break it down.

First, as a student, if someone else claims you as their dependent, you are a resident of the same state as the taxpayer who claims you. 

(For example, parents live in California and dependent child attends school in Wisconsin. That child/student is a resident of California and may or may not need to file both California and Wisconsin depending on income sources.) 

When a student is NOT a dependent, they must determine their- 

• DOMICILE:     Permanent legal residence/ permanent home where you intend to return to after a temporary move, such as for schooling.
  • PLACE OF ADOBE:     Location of housing, no matter if owed or rented.