turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I have a question : I am an international student and mistakenly filed my tax return using Turbo Tax. I wasn't aware that Turbo Tax. Now I want to change. Should I need to attach my 1040 form with 1040X ? On which form should I write amended? Thank in a

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DanaB27
Expert Alumni

I have a question : I am an international student and mistakenly filed my tax return using Turbo Tax. I wasn't aware that Turbo Tax. Now I want to change. Should I need to attach my 1040 form with 1040X ? On which form should I write amended? Thank in a

Yes, you can file on your own. You will have to download, fill out and print Form 1040X: https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040x.pdf 

Please follow these instructions:

• Enter your name, current address, and social security number (SSN) or individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN) on the front of Form 1040X.
  • Don’t enter any other information on page 1. Also, don’t complete Parts I or II on page 2 of Form 1040X.
  • Enter in Part III the reason why you are filing Form 1040X. 
  • Complete a new or corrected return (Form 1040NR). 
  • Across the top of the new or corrected return, write “AMENDED” (1040NR)
  • Across the copy of the original 1040 write "COPY OF ORIGINALLY SUBMITTED"
  • Attach 1040NR and the copy of the original 1040 to the back of Form 1040X.

@Sai Pavan Kalyan

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

19 Replies
DawnC
Expert Alumni