Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

isealbz
Returning Member

How should I enter my 1098-T into TurboTax Free File?

I am a PhD student. Ordinarily, my university pays me to work as a Teaching Assistant, and this income is reported on a W-2 form.

However, in Spring 2019, I was awarded a fellowship that included a stipend, tuition/fees contribution, and money for health insurance. Moreover, in Fall 2019, I was awarded additional money for teaching the first month of a course when the professor fell ill. All of this information was reported on a 1098-T form rather than a W-2 form.

Am I entering the information correctly?

The crucial steps seem to be:

1. Click "Yes" to "Did you have any higher education expenses in 2019?"
  2. Click "Add a Student" and click "Yes" to "Did you get a 1098-T for the year 2019?"
  3. Upload my 1098-T PDF.
  4. TurboTax automatically enters the following: $12,812.62 for Box 1; $0.00 for Box 4; $28,314.00 for Box 5; Box 7 ("Box 1 includes amounts for an academic period beginning January - March 2020") is unchecked; Box 8 ("At least half-time student") is checked; Box 9 ("Graduate student") is checked; $0.00 for Box 10 ("Insurance contract reimbursement refund").
  5. Click "Yes" to "Did You Receive Any of the Following Tax-Free Benefits Last Year? GI Bill benefits, Veterans' benefits, tax free employer provided assistance."
  6. It asks me, "What portion of the $28,314 from Box 5 on your 1098-T is from veterans' benefits and/or tax-free employer provided assistance?" I enter $13,057, which is the sum of the amounts listed under "Scholarships (tuition and fees)" and "Tuition waivers and exemptions" on my 1098-T (see below).