turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

rwo012

F31 Fellowship - Overpaid Taxes

Hey TurboTax community,

I recently used TurboTax to pay my taxes, and I feel like I grossly overpaid. I want advice on how to get that money back - can anyone help?

I am a graduate student on an NIH F31 fellowship stipend, with a gross income of $30,223 for 2019. Frustratingly, schools don't take out taxes on those for you, and they don't give you a W2, so I have to pay estimated taxes throughout the year. I did so over the course of 2019, paying $1,704 to the IRS in estimated taxes.  This amount was based on my 2018 Tax return, where I'd had the same situation and made the same amount of money ($30,859), and so the Total Tax that I paid for 2018 was $1,971.

I recently filed for 2019 using TurboTax, putting my income of $30,223 in the Other Income category. But this year TurboTax calculated that I owed a Total Tax of $4,278. So with the underpayment penalty, I still owed $2,588.  I paid it, but I keep thinking about it and that I grossly overpaid my taxes. Why should my taxes have increased from $1,971 to $4,278? What did I or TurboTax do wrong here?

Can someone either help me out with the math of it, or can you suggest how I can get my money back? 

Thanks!!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

Did one year fill out a schedule C for self employment income?   What line is the income on this year?  Is it on Schedule 1 line 8 which goes to 1040 line 7a?

Thought of something else.  How much is the tax?  The underpayment penalty?  Maybe you didn't pay a penalty on your 2018 return?