turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Purchasing a residential home to use as office and then converting to personal use

Hello,

Let's assume that I am a high paid consultant working as a sole proprietorship.  With Covid remote work and my kids being at home it's been quite crowded.  Would it be possible to purchase another house to use solely for business.  Obtain a mortgage etc.  But then pay off that mortgage using my business income so that the mortgage would come out of my profits?

For simplicity's sake suppose I didn't even bother to take depreciation on this property.  In a year I then convert this home to personal use.  What exactly would I owe the IRS at that point?  I didn't take depreciation on this property.  Eventually when I sold it I would owe capital gains on any appreciation.  But the initial payment was done with pre-tax income from my business.

This seems like it shouldn't be possible?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Purchasing a residential home to use as office and then converting to personal use

Depreciation  is required not an option and you cannot take the 179 or bonus depreciation on a piece of real estate  and you don't depreciate land.  This  is how the principal portion of the mortgage payment is accounted for legally on a tax return.  The fact that you will or do  pay off the loan faster than you take depreciation is immaterial.