Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Kiki
Level 4

How to save my tax 2022 after e-filed with CD/Download for next year to transfer into TT online version 2023

Please someone explain what exactly  I should do to save correctly to transfer my tax 2022 to TT online or/and CD/download version.

I've been using TT online for past 8 years, but I purchased CD/download last year for 2021 and e-filed.  I saved it in my PC file. This year, I couldn't transfer into TT online 2022 from my saved tax 2021. So I had to enter all information, everything from scrap. I have a lost of different accounts and so much time and work I had to spend.

I don't want to make the same mistake.

I am about ready to file my tax for 2022.

I am not familiar with high tech devices like younger people so if you can explain simple/easy steps for me, it would be appreciated greatly.

Thank you very much for your time and help in advance.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

How to save my tax 2022 after e-filed with CD/Download for next year to transfer into TT online version 2023

It's always a good idea to make a backup copy of your tax data file, in case your original gets lost or corrupted. Here's how:

1. From the File menu in the upper-left corner of TurboTax, choose Save As (Windows) or Save (Mac).
  2. Browse to where you want to save your backup.
    • Tip: If you're saving to a portable device, save it to your computer first to prevent data corruption. Then, after completing Step 4, copy or move the backup file to your device.