turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a resident of WI but worked in MN. I need to fill out Schedule OS. The info was not automatically filled in for Calculation of Credit. How do I get these figures?

I am stuck on Calculation of Credit.  How do I get these figures as the other two states were filled in automatically and the answer is not my total gross income.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

I am a resident of WI but worked in MN. I need to fill out Schedule OS. The info was not automatically filled in for Calculation of Credit. How do I get these figures?

The easiest way is to look at your w-2 to see how much income was reported to MN.  This is the income reported to the other state.  Then, the tax would be the difference of the amount of MN tax withheld and the amount of refund you receive from MN.  So if you paid 900 in MN tax, and got a refund of 200, your MN tax on MN income is 700.  However, if you had 100 additional to pay, then your MN tax is 1000 (900 withheld plus the 100 due).  However, if you are getting back all of your taxes from MN, then you will not get any credit for taxes paid to MN because you would have zero tax liability with MN.  

If you have not done so, it is recommended to prepare the MN nonresident return first to make sure that these credits are correctly calculated.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

20 Replies
DanielV01
Expert Alumni