turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Should I send 1099s?

I’m an artist.  My spouse and I file a joint return of form 1040 with schedule C.

I invited other independent artists to join me in a show (at my home).  For convenience, I swiped all credit card purchases on my Square reader— $4000 for other artists, $1000 of my own work — all $5,000 landed in my bank account.  When the show ended, I wrote a check to each artist for the amount she had sold.  Now I learn Square is going to send _me_ a 1099-K, listing the $5000 of credit card transactions even though my income from the show is just $1000.  This is going to look suspicious to IRS, isn’t it?  Should I send 1099-NECs to all the other artists to prove to IRS that $4000 wasn't really part of my income?

(Irrelevant, I suppose, but  _I_ paid the sales tax on the total $5000 — again, just for for the sake of convenience.)

Thank you for any advice you'd be will ing to give me.

Mary Ellen

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

Should I send 1099s?

YES ... that is exactly what you need to do to take the income off the Sch C since you have to report it all on the Sch C. 

Should I send 1099s?

Are you using Turbo Tax Online or the Desktop program?  And which version?

You need to give a 1099NEC (previous a 1099Misc) to anyone you paid $600 or more to for the year. But not to corporations or for merchandise. You send the IRS a copy of the 1099NEC  with the transmittal summary form 1096. These are due to the person by Jan 31 and to the IRS by Jan 31 also.