Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Self-employed and working in CO but living in OH

I am wondering what I should expect for 2022 taxes if I moved to Ohio during this past year but continue to engage in remote or online work in Colorado.  I am a self-employed mental health therapist who only has clients in Colorado and I have not earned any income in Ohio.  I am also wondering about 2023 taxes as I will continue to work in Colorado but reside in Ohio.  I appreciate any help and suggestions for my situation!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
OmM1
Employee Finance Expert

Hello jmsco290

Discerning from the limited info you have entered it looks like you are conducting your self employed business from OH. You are not just visiting OH on and off but staying in OH, but have not yet made up your mind if you want to be OH resident.

In view of above you may be required to file a non resident tax return for OH, based on all the income you made in OH.

Obviously as long as you  are CO resident, you will report you full income on CO resident tax return and will claim credit for Taxes paid to OH on your OH Non Resident income.

Hope this answers your question

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Hadley
Intuit Alumni

It sounds like you have established a residence in Ohio and have moved out of CO.  If that's the case, then you'll file two part-year returns for the year you moved, one for each state.