Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

ColeenD3
Expert Alumni

I am a day trader and I am trying to file my taxes to claim the active trader espenses like margin interest, home office, & purchase of computer. need help

Please see this answer from @AnnetteB6

In order to claim home office expenses as a trader, you will need to be using a CD/downloaded version of TurboTax because there is an entry that will be required to be entered directly on a worksheet in Forms Mode.

If you have not elected and submitted the Mark-to-Market (MTM) accounting method, then go to Forms Mode to view your Schedule D.  Line 16 of Schedule D will show the overall gain or loss being reported on your return.  If you did not report any transactions during the year as an ‘investor’ and Schedule D shows only your gains/losses from being a ‘trader’, then line 16 is the amount you use in the home office instruction below.  Otherwise, you must do some math outside of your return to determine only the overall gain/loss from transactions associated with your business as a ‘trader’.  Transactions as an investor (for example, selling a long-term holding) cannot be considered to be income associated with your business as a trader.

If you have elected and submitted the MTM accounting method, then go to Forms Mode to view your Form 4797.  If you have no other items reported on Form 4797 except for your trader activity, then the ‘trader’ gain is the amount from line 18b.  Otherwise, you will need to calculate the total gain for your trader activity only to use in the home office instruction below.