turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

K7sc123

Business expense deduction for computer purchased with student discount

My wife needs a new computer for a work from home job. We plan to file jointly. I am a student, so I have access to a student discount for computers. I plan to use my student discount to buy a new computer for her to use for her job. I know in general this is a valid expense to write off as a business expense. However, I am wondering if, in the case that we are audited, a student discount showing up on a receipt for a business expense will appear to be a red flag?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

You say your wife has a "work from home" job--but you did not mention whether she will receive a W-2 or if she is an independent contractor who will be reporting self-employment income.   If she is a W-2 employee, she cannot deduct job-related expenses on your federal tax return.    If she is an independent contractor then her business expenses are entered on a Schedule C.

-W-2 employees cannot deduct job-related expenses on a federal return.  Job-related expenses were eliminated as a federal deduction for W-2 employees by the tax laws that changed for 2018 and beyond.  Your state tax laws might be different in AL, AR, CA, HI, MN, NY or PA.

https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/4482873-which-federal-tax-deductions-have-been-suspended-by-tax-re...

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**