Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Need help figuring out if I itemized my deductions!

I am filling my taxes this afternoon and came across the question: Did your state or local tax refund count as income? Then the following piece of text: "Your state or local tax refund received in 2019 could count as income if you itemized your deductions in 2019. if you did this, your tax return would have a Schedule A."

My parents filed my taxes for me last year, and this is my first year doing them myself. I have my tax refund documents from last year, and have been scouring them for an answer. I have up to Line 23, and then have a Schedule 1 that goes up to line 36. I don't see Line 40 on the 1040 Form anywhere (which I was told could help me with this question). I also don't see anything called "Schedule A." Please help this newbie!

Thanks.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

11 Replies
CatinaT1
Expert Alumni

If you are not a homeowner, you most likely would not have a Schedule A.  This question would not apply in your situation.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

The line numbers have been changing each year.  For 2018 returns,  check 1040 line 8 for Standard Deduction or Itemized.

If you have one of these amounts on line 8 you took the Standard Deduction and your state refund is not taxable.

For 2018 the standard deduction amounts are:
Single 12,000 + 1,600 for 65 and over
HOH 18,000 + 1,600 for 65 and over
Joint 24,000 + 1,300 for each 65 and over
Married filing Separate 12,000 + 1,300 for 65 and over