turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

CMEast

State Forms

I have been using Turbo Tax since 1998 to do our taxes. The purchase ALWAYS included one state in the purchase price. Imagine my surprise and dismay to discover it is $39.99 to get the state forms for 2019!

Shame on you, Intuit! You are getting as bad as the IRS and the big tax companies.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

State Forms

1) If you are using the "Online" software  (Deluxe or higher), it never includes a free state.

2) If you are using the Desktop software, and buying Deluxe...you have to be particularly careful which Deluxe you buy.....because some Deluxe's (the cheapest ones) do not contain a free state, and are primarily meant for people in the few states that do not have an income tax.  Premier and H&B always have a free state...and IF you buy directly form TTX, then Deluxe does too.  Bur Deluxe, form Amazon, BBuy, Staples, COSTCO etc can have both sub-versions of Deluxe.

____________*Answers are correct to the best of my knowledge when posted, but should not be considered to be legal or official tax advice.*

State Forms

My DELUXE CD purchased in Costco says it includes a free copy of the state tax but when you get to the point in the program to add the FREE copy it wants to charge $39.99 before you can go any further.

State Forms

The only time I can see that might happen is if either:

1) you bought desktop, but are somehow using the online browser-based software instead.  (they are not the same thing. You may know that, but not all users recognize the difference))

or

2)  The wrong disk got into your package.