turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I neither made money or lived in IL for most of fiscal year 2020, but that is where my state of residence is considered do i still have to file in IL?

i am not technically a resident of the state i work in
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

I neither made money or lived in IL for most of fiscal year 2020, but that is where my state of residence is considered do i still have to file in IL?

We'd love to help you complete your tax return, but need more information. Can you please clarify your question?

Are you a student? Or in the military? Please explain why you think you may be an Illinois resident even if you never lived or worked there in 2020.

State residency is based on many factors. Some people think there are a resident of whatever state they have a driver's license or voter's registration card from. That's often not true. 

You are probably a resident of the state you work in, since that is where you presumably live and work, even if you haven't taken any steps to become a resident, but we would need more information.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Hi Ernie,

I am neither a student or military though I do work seasonally for the government. I would think I'm an IL resident due to my driver's license and voters registration. I don't have an address, license, or registration in the state i work

TomD8
Level 15

"I neither made money or lived in IL for most of fiscal year 2020"