Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

flip0674

My 95 year old Grandmother gets Social Security (1500) and a VA Pension (1100). Does she have to file a tax return?

She was told by a VA rep that she no longer had to file a Tax Return because she didn't make enough money. I work in Finance and I've never heard of anyone NOT filing a tax return. I just want to make sure that she is protected and that the VA-Rep isn't providing false information.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

My 95 year old Grandmother gets Social Security (1500) and a VA Pension (1100). Does she have to file a tax return?

If the VA benefits and Social Security are Grandma's only income she does not have to file a tax return.

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

View solution in original post

14 Replies

If the VA benefits and Social Security are Grandma's only income she does not have to file a tax return.

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

<a rel="nofollow" target="_blank" href="https://www.irs.gov/help/ita/do-i-need-to-file-a-tax-return">https://www.irs.gov/help/ita/do-i-need-...>