Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

black3746

I am a pennsylvania resident, on active duty military stationed outside of pennsylvania. It keeps asking for my school district and does not give an out of state option.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
DS30

I am a pennsylvania resident, on active duty military stationed outside of pennsylvania. It keeps asking for my school district and does not give an out of state option.

If this is related to your PA resident state income tax return, just use the school district for the city you claimed when you joined the military (the same city for your legal state of residence (SLR)).

Also, just make sure that you are letting the TurboTax system know that you are on active military duty and that you are inputting your state of legal residency (SLR) as your resident state. Your SLR is usually your home of record – the state recorded by the military as your home when you joined the military (regardless of where you are stationed).

For example if your SLR is PA but you are stationed in CA, then you will use PA as your resident state in TurboTax.

If necessary , you may need to edit your personal information under the Personal Info tab (for TurboTax Online sign-in, click Here) to let the TurboTax system know that you are in the U.S. Armed Forces.

You will need to make sure that you select yes -"I am a member or former member of the U.S. Armed Forces (active, reserve or National Guard)".

Also answer "no" to "I lived in another state" (screenshot). Even though you may have lived in a different state, this will not apply if you are on active military service in a state other than your home of record state.