turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

daria1971

registering a dependent's car in another state

I am a resident of Delaware. My 21-year daughter is a full-time student in North Carolina.  She lives off campus so she has a North Carolina address.  I plan to claim her as a dependent for the next 2 years while she is in school. It's time to renew her car registration and we were thinking of switching it to North Carolina because she plans to stay there after graduation. If she registers her car in NC and gets an NC driver's license, will I still be able to claim her as a dependent? I'm still supporting her financially while she's in school.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
CatinaT1
Employee Tax Expert

Yes, you will still be able to claim her.  Being away at school is considered a temporary absence.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Carl
Level 15

Just an addendum for something unrelated that jumped out at me when I read it.

I'm still supporting her financially while she's in school.

There is no requirement for the parent to provide the student any support. Not one single penny.  The support requirement is on the student, and only the student. That requirement is: