Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

rutabega

If I'm a freelancer hiring another freelancer as an independent contractor, do I need to have an EIN/TIN? Do I need to pay taxes quarterly if I'm making zero profit?

I'm a freelance writer who created and is writing a webcomic and I've hired a freelance artist to draw it. My understanding was that I need to apply for a TIN/EIN and have him fill out a W-9 and then give him a 1099 at some point, but I just wanted to make sure that's correct. I also want to know if I have to file/report my earnings related to this webcomic quarterly -- chances are those earnings will be zero dollars for the forseeable future.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply

If I'm a freelancer hiring another freelancer as an independent contractor, do I need to have an EIN/TIN? Do I need to pay taxes quarterly if I'm making zero profit?

You don’t need to get an EIN you can use your ssn to prepare the 1099Misc.  But peopleget the EIN so they don’t have to give out their ssn.  If you paid anyone $600 or more you need to give them a 1099Misc.  But not to corporations or for merchandise. You send the IRS a copy of the 1099Misc with the transmittal summary form 1096. These are due to the person by Jan 31 and to the IRS by Jan 31 also.  Yes you should have them fill out a W9 before you pay them.  You need their ssn.

At the end of the year we can tell you how to prepare the 1099Misc using Quick Employer Forms.