turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Paul2695

I own my property outright how do I right off rent for my business which is in a separate building

I own my property outright how do I right off rent for my business which is in a separate building?

Do I have to claim the rent as income personally.

I am a DBA and not an LLC

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

I own my property outright how do I right off rent for my business which is in a separate building

I own my property outright how do I right off rent for my business which is in a separate building?

"rent for my business which is in a separate building

as rent expense on schedule C. (assuming your business isn't a partnership or corporation) 

Do I have to claim the rent as income personally - explain! where does the rental income come from?

Do you mean your Sch C business is "renting" from you personally in a building you own ?   

Carl
Level 15

I own my property outright

So who is renting what, and from whom are they renting it?

Paul2695

Sorry, I thought I made it clear but I didn't think about all the details.

I own the property that my house and shop are on outright.