turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

patrick2

As an LLC business owner, my state (AZ) does not require 1099-MISC submitted. Do I need to provide my contractors with a state copy of their 1099-MISC?

As an LLC business owner, my home state of AZ does not require 1099-MISC to be submitted. My contractors live in other states. Nothing was withheld from my contractors' wages. 

I will send Copy B of 1099-MISC to my contractors. 

However, the TT print-out does not specify whether the "Copy 1 for State" was intended for me, the Payer, or the contractor.

Do I need to provide my contractors with the "Copy 1 for State" of their 1099-MISC?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

11 Replies
maglib
Level 11

As an LLC business owner, my state (AZ) does not require 1099-MISC submitted. Do I need to provide my contractors with a state copy of their 1099-MISC?

is the contractor an individual or incorporated? Federal laws require you to send 1099Misc still.  <a rel="nofollow" target="_blank" href="https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1099msc_17.pdf">https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1099msc_17.pdf</a>... state may not require one but the Fed rules still apply.  Don't worry about the state as long as you send IRS version.
**I don't work for TT. Just trying to help. All the best.
***Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post and that I solved your question
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
I am NOT an expert and you should confirm with a tax expert.

He was only asking if he needed to generate and distribute the state copy Copy 1