turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

AMWLeesh

Should I deduct entire amount or depreciate musical instrument?

I'm a full-time professional orchestral musician (W2). I purchased an instrument in 2016 for $18,500.

How do I decide the best (or correct) way to deduct the expense? I think I am allowed to either deduct the total or depreciate over time.

Additionally, because the maker has retired, it will appreciate. Does depreciating pose any risk to its future appraised value?

Does either option have implications if I were to sell it years later?

Thanks!
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Anything you buy for work that is more than the de minimis safe harbor ($2500) and has an expected useful life of more than one year, is an asset that must be depreciated.  You are probably eligible to take section 179 depreciation, which is a way to take the entire amount in the first year, but it is still depreciation and not an expense and has certain future implications.  Also, because you are a W-2 employee, any depreciation you claim will be reported on form 2106 as an itemized deduction subject to the 2% rule, so your actual tax benefit may be limited, and if you qualify for section 179 you should take it.  List the instrument as an asset in the business expense section and let the program tell you if you are qualified for section 179.  The class life for musical instruments is 7 years.