Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kc7hxc

Letter from the IRS

I have been using Turbo Tax for over 20 years now and have never had any problems.  That is until now.

My question is why would the IRS send me a letter (OMB Clearance No. 154-0074) stating that they need all the forms that I used to support the entry I have on Line 16 of my 1040 form.

I filled out all data as stated in Turbo Tax and then Turbo Tax checked it and stated that all was ok.

They have all the data I have so why would they ask for what I have? 1099-r’s and SSA-1099’s. It’s the same as there’s.

They also as for my W-2 which I don’t have for I am retired.

Thanks

[PII]

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
JulieR
Expert Alumni

Letter from the IRS

I understand your concern.  You have done nothing wrong. There are some instances where the IRS does not receive copies of all your income forms as they should have, from the issuer.  In that case, they can't really tell what forms are missing in order to verify your tax withheld.  They just need to see your copies to tell what they're missing.  It usually can take up to a year for them to be able to match the income you report to the various sources of that income so it's much faster and easier for you to just send them a copy of anything that showed tax withheld.

View solution in original post

9 Replies
JulieR
Expert Alumni

Letter from the IRS