Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I forgot to add document in previous years

So I forgot to add my Robinhood Tax Documents 1099 when i filled last year for the year 2020, and i Forgot to add my College 1098-T form from 2020 on my 2019 taxes i filled.Reason being, I thought Every document was like a W-2 arriving by Jan 31st, and didn't know1098-T i would get one as i didn't know it existed, and was my first year with stocks and had no clue either not thinking.

Can i Amend these still? Is it too late? What do i do? The whole sales for my Robinhood was about $200, and i forgot to add all my expenses for my College two years ago as I am new with filing taxes, I am now 20, and was 18 and 19 then.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
JohnW152
Expert Alumni

Yes, you can still amend your prior-year returns to include these items.

Please see the TurboTax Help article How to amend (change or correct) a return you already filed for guidance.

Generally, for a credit or refund, you have to file Form 1040-X within three years, including extensions, after the date you filed your original return, or within two years after the date you paid the tax, whichever is later.

If you were still claimed by your parents back then the college information should have gone on their tax returns ... only they could have gotten the credit.   

Well, my parents stopped claiming me since I started a FT job in 2018, so I was independent then. In 2020 I was officially moved out on my own 100%. This return was I believe for 2019 year so I filed it in 2020. Is it still possible to add this credit & get those taxes back that I paid for my college expenses?