turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

vmtz2002

I can't remember some of the short lived jobs I did that my employers may have filed a W2 for

I worked as an extra a few times during the year. I made no more than $200. One job paid $50 and sent me a W2. I'm not sure I am missing other W2's from some of these short term jobs. What if the income I file is less than the W2's the IRS has. I don't know who these employers might be and I don't want to wait 75 days for the IRS to send me a transcript, I'm sure that if I am off on the income I report, it won't be much.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
rainydaze

I can't remember some of the short lived jobs I did that my employers may have filed a W2 for

The IRS runs a comparison of income between what you file and what was reported.  If the income you report does not match the IRS records, they will send you a letter with the amount owed and any interest and penalties that have accrued during that time (the time period starts 4/15 of the year the return was supposed to filed).  The IRS can take a year or two to send you that letter.  You will continue to accrue interest and penalties until you pay your balance in full.  

View solution in original post

5 Replies

You can get a wage and income transcript online instantly.
vmtz2002

How? I read you can get it from the IRS for $50 or from Turbo Tax if you upgrade your account.

You can get a free transcript of your past return from the IRS:  
<a rel="nofollow" target="_blank" href="https://www.irs.gov/individuals/get-transcript">https://www.irs.gov/individuals/get-transcript</a>