turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

North Carolina

I am a resident in Florida but worked part-time in North Carolina and have to pay NC income tax. I received an RMD from my IRA retirement fund. When I entered the RMD in my Federal taxes the amount due for NC income tax went up. Is the RMD subject to income NC income tax? Is there somewhere I have to record in the NC state Turbo Tax income while a non-resident? It does not seem right I have to pay more NC income tax on RMD funds received from another state. Thanks.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

North Carolina

It is included in total gross income for figuring the taxes NC will apply.

.......but #1, it is not included in NC income.

...........but #2, you need to ignore the NC tax until you complete fill out the Federal tax section.  Every dang scrap ! 

Once the Federal  is fully filled in, you will be able to go thru the NC Nonresident tax return, and then , in the NC interview, indicate what income was NC income as a non-resident....only that part-time job W-2 is NC nonresident income...and nothing else. When on the non-resident allocation pages you have to put in a number in the blanks...or an actual zero.  Most , or all blanks will be zero's.

____________*Answers are correct to the best of my knowledge when posted, but should not be considered to be legal or official tax advice.*

View solution in original post

4 Replies

North Carolina

It is included in total gross income for figuring the taxes NC will apply.

.......but #1, it is not included in NC income.

...........but #2, you need to ignore the NC tax until you complete fill out the Federal tax section.  Every dang scrap !