turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jahirju30

Can F1 students claim child tax credit for US born children?

I am an F1 student for 4 years in the US. I have a child born in the US in October 2015. I was wondering if F1 students like me are eligible to claim child tax credits. 

Thank you. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

15 Replies
HollyP
Employee Tax Expert

No, not yet, because you are still considered a non-resident alien and you cannot file a Form 1040 to claim the Child Tax Credit.

International students on F1 visas are automatically considered non-resident aliens for their first 5 calendar years in the US, and need to file form 1040NR or 1040NR-EZ. These are not supported by TurboTax, but we recently started a partnership with Sprintax to offer a nonresident tax filing solution to our TurboTax customers. Visit the TurboTax/Sprintax site for more info or to get started.

Once you’ve been in the US for longer than the 5 calendar years, the Substantial Presence Test will determine if you should be taxed as a resident or nonresident alien. Only after you qualify to be taxed as a resident alien can you then qualify for the Child Tax Credits. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
jahirju30

So, basically, I can NOT claim any type of tax benefits for my US born child until I become Resident Alien, right? But, I can both claim my child as a dependent and claim tax credit after that?

How about can we claim child credit at State level?