turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

Kat
Level 15
Level 15

How come EVERY TIME I open my Turbo Tax to continue working on my return, I get a message for another [profanity] 185MB update? This is RIDICULOUS with this product?

Special thanks to SuperUser @macuser_22 for assistance!
*** I am NOT a tax expert. I am a seasoned TurboTax user, and volunteer to provide assistance to TT users. Nothing I post is to be considered TAX ADVICE; I bear no legal liability for responses.***

How come EVERY TIME I open my Turbo Tax to continue working on my return, I get a message for another [profanity] 185MB update? This is RIDICULOUS with this product?

ok thanks, I have 2 states and federal downloaded, so think I will finish my return & file, before I have to figure out where/how to get the downloads again, etc.

This is a year old post, but this usually happens when a preference of Applications support file has become damaged or corrupt.   The solution is to do a total uninstall of ALL associated files the  then empty the trash restart the Mac before re-installing.

Corruption could have occurred in the Application or in an associated preference or support file.

The best remedy is to totally uninstall TurboTax and all associate files and then re-install. That will not delete or change any .tax2018 data file that had already been created with the tax data.

To uninstall the application and all associated files need to be deleted and then the application reinstalled. If there was a state then the state must also be reinstalled.

Here is a FAQ for how to uninstall Mac
https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/1901210-remove-uninstall-turbotax-for-mac