turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Hello. This is my first time paying self employment taxes. I'd like to make my first estimated tax payment, I'm just not sure what to consider my income. For example, for January-March if I made $2000

And used 50% of my home for work would I deduct 50% of each month's rent from that $2000?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
DawnC
Employee Tax Expert

Hello. This is my first time paying self employment taxes. I'd like to make my first estimated tax payment, I'm just not sure what to consider my income. For example, for January-March if I made $2000

You should take into account all of your deductions when preparing your 2020 estimated tax payments.  You can use the instructions below to determine the estimated tax payment you should make in 2020.  For the home office deduction, please see the article Claiming the Home Office Deduction for more information as the amount you can deduct may be limited.  Here are some highlights:

You may be able to claim the home office deduction if your office is:

Your home office business deductions are based on the percentage of your home used for the business or a simplified square footage calculation.  With either method, the qualification for the home office deduction is determined each year. So you might qualify one year and not the next, or vice versa.  

• If you include home depreciation as part of the home office deduction and eventually sell your home at a profit, you will have to pay a capital gains tax on the total amount of depreciation deductions you took while you were living there, assuming you sold the home for a profit.