turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

H1B and H4 spouse with worldwide income

Hey there,

I worked all year in US on H1B visa, I got married in August 2019 and my wife moved to the US in November. She had income in Romania before moving to the US. Based on the presence test, she is a nonresident for tax purposes and we would like to file a joint return and I would like her to be treated as a US resident for tax purposes, hence filing for ITIN (she is not eligible to get a SSN).

Based on the information that I've been reading online I need to follow these steps:

Federal: 

1. Apply for an ITIN using a completed W-7.

2. Attach a declaration saying that my wife was a nonresident alien in 2019 and I was a resident alien.

3. Attach the W-2 from my employer to the return.

4. File for federal by mail and attach the W-7 form plus supporting documents.

State:

1. File state simply by mailing the completed and signed forms from Turbotax and say "ITIN applied for" in the SSN part.

I have a few questions in this process:

1. Foreign income for my wife: there is no such thing as W-2 in Romania. We calculated the income based on what she earned each month and did the conversion from RON to USD based on the conversion rate at the date of receiving the paycheck. I added the total amount on Turbotax in the Foreign Earned Income section of Income section. Do I need any supporting documents attached to the return? Where does this income go on the final form? I do see it added in Box 1 in the wages section, but how does the IRS know this is coming from foreign sources if my W-2 only includes the US ones.

2. "Attach a declaration saying that my wife was a nonresident alien in 2019" - Does anyone have an example of a declaration, does this needs to be certified by a notary or just our signature will do?