turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ET17
Level 2

Crypto losses over several years

Hello,

I've been trading crypto for the last three years and decided to sell all of them in 2020. I've never reported any transaction in the last three years (my mistake) but experienced only losses each year. I'd like to report the overall loss from when I started to trade crypto (3 years ago) to last year when I sold all of them. I understand I can use the help of tokentax to produce a form 8949 for the transactions made in 2020 but what about the transactions I made before in 2019 and 2018?

Thanks for you answer.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
JohnB5677
Expert Alumni

To simply file your 2020 return without the previous years would be incorrect.

To accurately file your taxes you will have to file amended returns starting with 2017.  The profit and loss for each year will be different, and that is the only way to get it correct.

Although cryptocurrencies are similar, the are not the same.  FedEx and UPS are similar, but they are completely different stocks.  Likewise, each cryptocurrency is different.

You can file a 2017 amended return up to 04/15/2021.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

7 Replies
AmyC
Expert Alumni

You can amend 2018 and 2019. To get a refund, you will need to file the 2018 by April 15, 2022.

Once your return is accepted and the finances are settled, you can file an amended return. 

ET17
Level 2

Hello,