turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

So Im a 19 year old student and I did a lot of reading about family members claiming you on their taxes and what counts and what doesn’t. In my specific situation, my mother lives in vegas, my fa

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DianeW
Expert Alumni

So Im a 19 year old student and I did a lot of reading about family members claiming you on their taxes and what counts and what doesn’t. In my specific situation, my mother lives in vegas, my fa

If you do not provide more than half of your own support and you live with one of your parents, then only that parent has the right to claim you.  The custodial parent has the option of waiving that exemption to the other noncustodial parent.  The rules for claiming your own exemption is shown below.

Your Own Exemption

You can take one exemption for yourself unless you can be claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer. If another taxpayer is entitled to claim you as a dependent, you cannot take an exemption for yourself even if the other taxpayer doesn't actually claim you as a dependent.

Attached are the Qualifying Child Rules so you are able to review them.  If you are entitled to claim your daughter as a dependent she is not eligible to claim her own exemption.

Qualifying Child:

• The child must be related to you. The child can be your son, daughter, stepchild, eligible foster child, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, stepbrother, stepsister, adopted child or an offspring of any of them.
  • Your child must be under age 19 or, if a full-time student, under age 24. There is no age limit if your child is permanently and totally disabled.