Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I've used TurboTax Desktop On Windows for over 10 years, but never again.

I have a subscription to download TurboTax every year, this year (TY2021) I got an email saying it was ready but when I went to download it said nothing found.  I entered the activation key that was in the email and it said Mac only.  I've never used a Mac, so I had to pay another $50 to get a Windows desktop download.  That was just the beginning.

This year's software is full of bugs.  I had to wrestle with it for hours to get the right amounts in the right boxes, and was never able to find how to enter Schedule 1 - 8(j) Stock Options (for an NQSO exercise differential not otherwise reported), so I ended up having to report it in 8(z). I tried override in 8(j), which let me enter the amount but it wouldn't totalize it.

Very frustrating. I'd rather do it pen and paper than use TurboTax again.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

Me, too.

I paid nearly what a CPA would cost, and got nearly nothing.  I will have to do my state self-employed taxes on paper due to a software issue, and nobody cares or responds.

@ just1break wrote:

Me, too.

I paid nearly what a CPA would cost, and got nearly nothing.  I will have to do my state self-employed taxes on paper due to a software issue, and nobody cares or responds.

This is mainly a user community forum--not a direct route to TurboTax Support.   The folks at TurboTax that need to know about your frustrating experience do not tend to read the user forum.

Please review the info I just now left on your original thread to see if it's helpful.  It tells you how to contact someone at Intuit Corporate.