Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to Report Freelance Income Obtained from Company Outside of the US

I work as a freelance artist in California. This year, I started working as a freelancer/contracted artist for a studio that is based in Canada. They pay me monthly and, in total, have paid me over $600. I know that in the US, freelancers need to get 1099 forms from companies that pay them over $600. I have a few questions about how to report this income.

1. What form do I use to report freelance income obtained from a company outside of the US?

2. Does the studio still need to send me a 1099 form? 

3. Do I need to send the studio any tax forms? If so, which ones?

4. If the studio doesn't send me a 1099 form, what do I do?

I asked the studio, and they said they don't think they can/need to send me forms but said I should check with an accountant and let them know what the accountant says. Thanks.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

You don't need the 1099Misc.  You just enter it as other business income.

https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/self-employed/help/what-if-i-didn-t-get-a-1099-misc-but-made-money... 

Ah, so, to clarify, the company doesn't need to send me any forms, I don't need to send them any forms, and I just report the income as business income? 

Right.

Cool! Thanks for the help. 

pk
Level 15
Level 15

@birdatiel31 , having gone through the above conversation and generally agreeing with @VolvoGirl -->