turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

reygip

What can I do if I have not received my W2 from a previous employer?

what about the ex-employer who purposely avoids your calls and did not send the w-2 to cause you problems. Isn't there penalties or that against the law?

maglib
Level 11

file a complaint with the IRS for failure to report..... this is an income tax board only, not the judicial side.
**I don't work for TT. Just trying to help. All the best.
***Say "Thanks" by marking as BEST ANSWER and clicking the thumb icon in a post and that I solved your question
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
I am NOT an expert and you should confirm with a tax expert.
Andrew_

My boss will send me my w-2's and won't answer his phone or messages [removed] phone number [phone number removed] help me. 

I never received my w-2s from an previous employer. What do I need to do?

KarenM90
Intuit Alumni

Start by contacting your employer.  They are required to distribute them to employees by 1/31/2020.   

If the employer is no longer in business or you can not reach someone you can contact IRS, if you have not received it by February 14th

After notifying IRS you can either continue waiting or go ahead and file Form 4852 in TurboTax:

• Visit the W-2 area of TurboTax and Start a W-2.
  • Enter the Employer ID Number (EIN) if you know it. Leave it blank if you don’t.