Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

truttger1

If I have no income but paid property tax on a home I own, do I still need to file taxes?

I am a student living internationally. I rent my house in Oregon but I do not have any net income. I am wondering if I need to file a tax return this year because I still pay property taxes on my house. Will I get any money back from the property tax I pay? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
AlanT
Expert Alumni
Intuit Approved! This answer has been verified for accuracy by an Intuit expert employee

If I have no income but paid property tax on a home I own, do I still need to file taxes?

Yes, you must still file an income tax return even though your net income is zero.  You must report your rental income and expenses. If the income minus expenses result in a loss, you will be able to claim this loss against future income.    

Unfortunately, you will not get any money back from the property tax you pay.  

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

16 Replies
AlanT
Expert Alumni
Intuit Approved! This answer has been verified for accuracy by an Intuit expert employee

Yes, you must still file an income tax return even though your net income is zero.  You must report your rental income and expenses. If the income minus expenses result in a loss, you will be able to claim this loss against future income.    

Unfortunately, you will not get any money back from the property tax you pay.  

Jkoolz01