turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

When should you elect to use the Simplified AMT Foreign Tax Credit Limitation? This is my first year claiming FTC and I don't understand how I should answer this.

Following up on the question: is there any way to determine based on the 1116 form if I have made the simplified election in the previous year? Based on the thread it seems to be possible, but I am not sure what I should be looking for.

When should you elect to use the Simplified AMT Foreign Tax Credit Limitation? This is my first year claiming FTC and I don't understand how I should answer this.

Hi pok, thanks for the answer. I'm just wondering though, what is this section to begin with? I mean, what is Simplified AMT Foreign Tax Credit Limitation??? Why is this important? In the case that I am not earning a huge amount, I assume AMT is not something to worry about, but I just don't really understand how it applies to FTC, and if I have foreign income in only the general category, WHY is it correct to choose the simplified method? I am feeling a bit lost about what this implies, and also how this will affect how I must fill out future returns as well. Thank you.

aliali107

Hi, how about if my foreign income is of general category (wages) but my US income includes mutual fund or stock trading? Should I use simplified method or the complicated method?

I have rental income from Canada. I already pay taxes for that income in Canada so I'm eligible for foreign tax credit.