turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

When should you elect to use the Simplified AMT Foreign Tax Credit Limitation? This is my first year claiming FTC and I don't understand how I should answer this.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

40 Replies
pk
Level 15
Level 15

When should you elect to use the Simplified AMT Foreign Tax Credit Limitation? This is my first year claiming FTC and I don't understand how I should answer this.

if your foreign income is of general category ( wages, interest income  etc. ) then you are correct in using the simplified method.  If you have incomes  from many categoreis, including trusts, complicated investment portfolios  etc. and / or multi category carry over credits, do not choose simplied  method.

momtoisabelle
Returning Member

What about income from the sale of a rental property?
pk
Level 15
Level 15

That is capital gain/ loss .
You enter this just as if the property disposed was in the USA --- Tell TurboTax that you have assets that were disposed in 2018.  All your basis, sales proceeds etc. must be converted to US$ of the day -- the exchange rate being based on US Treasury, known sites, or bank in the country where the transaction took place.  Any taxes paid on this gain/loss situation to a foreign taxing authority is eligible for foreign tax credit or deduction ( if use itemized deduction )
If you need more on this , please include your questions in comments and I will circle back

How can I determine if I've used this method on a past return?

LinaJ2020
Expert Alumni

If this is the first year you claim the foreign tax credit, you would check the box for "First year I am eligible for the election".