turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a 20 year old student and claimed as a dependent on my parents return. I have earned income of $4800 with no deductions and was paid via 1099 NEC. I am filing as Single and TT shows my standard deduction as $1100. Shouldn't it be $5150?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I am a 20 year old student and claimed as a dependent on my parents return. I have earned income of $4800 with no deductions and was paid via 1099 NEC. I am filing as Single and TT shows my standard deduction as $1100. Shouldn't it be $5150?

It needs to show up as self employment income on Schedule C to count as Earned Income.  THEN.....

If a Dependent only has Self Employment income the Standard Deduction is the Net Profit (minus 1/2 the SE tax) + 350 or 12,400 max.

If you have no expenses the SE tax is 4,800 x .9235 x .153 = 678.22
678.22 / 2 = 339.11

4,800 - 339.11 = 4,460.89 Earned Income
4,460.89 + 350= 4,810.89 Standard Deduction

You need to take the 1099NEC out of other income and enter it as self employment.   You can enter Self Employment Income into Online Deluxe or Premier but if you have any expenses you will have to upgrade to the Self Employed version. Or any of the Desktop programs. But you will get the most help in the Home & Business version.

How to enter income from Self Employment
https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/self-employed/help/how-do-i-report-income-from-self-employment/00/...

View solution in original post

6 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

Q. Shouldn't my standard deduction  be $5150?

A.  Yes, but not exactly. See VolvoGirl's explanation below.